Stutensee, November 11, 2020 DR. THOMAS + PARTNER (TUP) supports the HABA family of companies in the planning and further development of warehouse management modules for the operation of the automated bag sorting system of Dematic GmbH.

The vision of fast returns processing has succeeded. The pocket sorter originally planned for this sub-process was successfully put into operation in April 2020. Now, the logistics management of the HABA family of companies sees the next goal in using the high-performance hardware to optimize order picking as well. The software manufactory supports the german toy and children’s furniture manufacturer in the expansion of its business processes and control systems, so that even common replenishment goods from the external warehouses can be buffered.

The expansion means that the 20 buffer loops, capable of holding up to 40,000 products, can not only make returns reusable for shipping in the shortest possible time, but can also be used for precautionary replenishment and for processing so-called ‘silver’ and ‘golden cartons’. The precautionary replenishment can be defined manually by an employee or can be extrapolated from existing orders in the picking process using algorithms. By means of jointly defined boundary conditions and process steps, the HABA family of companies and TUP ensure that no delays occur between the external warehouses and the picking zone, even during order peaks.

In addition, the software-supported creation of ‘Silver’ and ‘Golden Cartons’ ensures that all distribution center resources are used as efficiently as possible. A ‘Golden Carton’ requires the entire quantity of a carton for several customer orders, while a ‘Silver Carton’ requires a sufficiently large quantity from one carton. This reduces the distances travelled by employees, the necessary movements on the conveyor system and the picking effort.

The warehouse management system was adapted to the requirements of the HABA family of companies in order to control the consolidation of the articles in the packing department.

TUP already accompanied the integration project of the Omni Channel Fulfillment solution of the automation technology provider Dematic as co-planner and consultant from the initial planning to the commissioning, in order to integrate the new technology into the already extensively used distribution center together with all project partners involved. The software manufacturer focused on optimizing business processes throughout the distribution center in order to integrate returns processing via the bag sorter system into the existing architecture as efficiently as possible.

The Dr. Thomas + Partner GmbH & Co. KG (TUP) is a medium-sized family business based in Stutensee, around 15 kilometers northeast of Karlsruhe, which plans and implements customized, modular intralogistics solutions.

For interview requests you can reach your contact Peter Klement via redaktion@tup.com or by phone via +49 721 7834 194. The complete company profile can be found on this page.

Pictures for press releases can be found under this link.

Back to the article overview

Stutensee, den 11. November 2020. DR. THOMAS + PARTNER (TUP) unterstützt die HABA-Firmenfamilie bei der Planung und Weiterentwicklung der Warehouse-Management-Module für den Betrieb des automatisierten Taschensortiersystem der Dematic GmbH.

Die Vision einer schnellen Retourenabwicklung ist gelungen. Der ursprünglich für diesen Teilprozess geplante Taschersorter ist im April 2020 erfolgreich in Betrieb gegangen. Jetzt sieht die Logistikleitung der HABA-Firmenfamilie das nächste Ziel darin, die leistungsstarke Hardware auch zur Optimierung der Kommissionierung zu nutzen. Die Software-Manufaktur unterstützt den deutschen Spielwaren- und Kindermöbelhersteller in der Erweiterung der Geschäftsprozesse und Steuerungssysteme, so dass auch gängige Nachschubware der Außenlager gepuffert werden kann.

Durch die Erweiterung können die 20 Pufferschleifen, in denen bis zu 40.000 Produkte Platz finden, nicht nur Retouren in kürzester Zeit wieder versandfähig zu Verfügung stellen, sondern auch für den vorsorglichen Nachschub sowie die Bearbeitung von sogenannten ‚Silver‘ und ‚Golden Cartons‘ eingesetzt werden. Der vorsorgliche Nachschub kann manuell durch einen Mitarbeiter definiert werden oder durch Algorithmen aus den bestehenden Aufträgen in der Kommissionierung extrapoliert werden. Über gemeinsam definierte Randbedingungen und Prozessschritte stellen die HABA-Firmenfamilie und TUP sicher, dass zwischen den Außenlagern und der Kommissionierzone auch bei Auftragsspitzen keine Verzögerungen entstehen.

Durch die softwaregestützte Bildung von ‚Silver‘ und ‚Golden Cartons‘ werden zudem alle Ressourcen des Distributionszentrums so effizient wie möglich genutzt. Bei einem ‚Golden Carton‘ wird die gesamte Kartonmenge eines Artikels für mehrere Kundenaufträge benötigt, bei einem ‚Silver Carton‘ eine ausreichend große Menge aus einem Karton. So reduzieren sich die Wege der Mitarbeiter, die notwendigen Bewegungen auf der Fördertechnik und der Kommissionieraufwand.

Das Warehouse-Management-System wurde dazu auf Basis der Anforderungen der HABA-Firmenfamilie angepasst, um die Zusammenführung der Artikel in der Packerei zu steuern.

TUP begleitete bereits als Co-Planer und Berater das Integrationsprojekt der Omni-Channel-Fulfillment-Lösung des Automatisierungstechnikanbieters Dematic von der initialen Planung bis hin zur Inbetriebnahme, um gemeinsam mit allen beteiligten Projektpartnern die neue Technologie in das bereits räumlich umfassend genutzte Distributionszentrum zu integrieren. Der Fokus der Software-Manufaktur lag dabei auf der Optimierung der Geschäftsprozesse im gesamten Distributionszentrum, um die Retourenabwicklung über die Taschensorteranlage so effizient wie möglich in die bestehende Architektur zu integrieren.

Die Dr. Thomas + Partner GmbH & Co. KG (TUP) ist ein mittelständisches Familienunternehmen mit Sitz in Stutensee, rund 15 Kilometer nordöstlich von Karlsruhe, das maßgeschneiderte, modulare Intralogistiklösungen plant und realisiert.

Für Interviewanfragen erreichen Sie Ihren Ansprechpartner Peter Klement über redaktion@tup.com oder telefonisch via +49 721 7834 194. Das vollständige Firmenprofil finden Sie auf auf dieser Seite.

Bildmaterial zu Pressemeldung finden Sie unter diesem Link.

Zurück zur Beitragsübersicht