Pfizer - Pharmaceuticals

Pfizer Project Information

In 2012, Pfizer Inc. was the world’s largest pharmaceuticals company. From the Karlsruhe RDC (Regional Distribution Centre), Pfizer Deutschland GmbH distributes its own products, products from its subsidiaries, and products from third-party manufacturers for the German and Austria markets.

The Challenges

The processes at the Karlsruhe distribution centre are characterised by an extreme range of order quantities with regard to

  • The Respective Products (e.g. refrigerated goods, hazardous goods, high-quality items)
  • Client Groups (e.g. pharmacies, hospitals, wholesalers)
  • Markets (Germany, Austria)
  • The Individual Companies (= clients) standing behind the Pfizer brand

What’s more, the pharmaceutical industry demands validation of the complete system in accordance with GxP requirements.

Implementation

DR. THOMAS + PARTNER implemented the original version of a warehouse management/forklift guidance and picking system based on SUN/Solaris in conjunction with an Oracle database for Pfizer in 1996. Since then, the system has been continuously altered and expanded to suit ever-changing requirements.

The Wide Range Of Requirements Stated Is Covered By Variety Of Picking Types:

  • Whole And Partial Pallets For Bulk-Buyers
  • Goods-To-Person Picking For Purchase Quantities In Whole Boxes
  • Pick-By-Light Facility For The Picking Of Medium-Sized Quantities (tray conveyor system with empty boxes placed on it)
  • Division Of The Plant In Three Zones For Products With Different Throughput
  • Order Picking With WLAN Mobile Data Collectors From Cycle Channels, Lower Shelves And Pallets
  • Special Fast-Seller Picking For Direct Provision To Pharmacies

The forklift guidance system coordinates a fleet of different forklift types so that the routes are minimised, and the different priorities of the waiting transports are taken into account. All transport processes are protected against operating errors and mix-ups by scanning barcodes on pallet labels and special labels.

The user interface with a total of 150 dialogues was tailored to the ergonomic requirements of the individual processes. This means for example that there are workstations in the warehouse at which the user generally exclusively works with the barcode scanner and does not use a keyboard (or even a mouse). A very detailed authorisation concept ensures that only authorised employees can run through the sensitive process steps. The high requirements in terms of availability are met using hardware and software.

Platform

SUN


A Selection of projects

adidas_logo_smallbaur_logo_smallbrillux_logo_smallfadis_logo_smallhaba_logo_smallodlo_logo_smallotto_logo_smallpfizer_logo_small

Pfizer - Arzneimittel

Projekt Informationen Pfizer

Pfizer Inc. war 2012 das größte Pharmaunternehmen der Welt. Die Pfizer Deutschland GmbH vertreibt vom RDC (Regional Distribution Center) Karlsruhe aus die Produkte ihrer eigenen Produktion, ihrer Tochterfirmen und von Fremdherstellern für den deutschen und österreichischen Raum.

Die Herausforderungen

Die Prozesse im Distribution Center Karlsruhe sind gekennzeichnet von einer extremen Bandbreite an Auftragsgrößen.

  • der jeweiligen Produkte (z.B. Kühlware, Gefahrgüter, hochwertige Artikel)
  • der Kundengruppen (z.B. Apotheken, Kliniken, Großhändler)
  • der Märkte (Deutschland, Österreich)
  • der hinter der Marke ‘Pfizer’ stehenden einzelnen Firmen (= Mandaten)

Zudem verlangt das Umfeld der Pharma-Branche eine Validierung des kompletten Systems gemäß GxP-Vorgaben.

Die Umsetzung

Die Firma DR. THOMAS + PARTNER realisierte für die Firma Pfizer schon 1996 die Urversion eines Lagerverwaltungs- / Staplerleit- und Kommissioniersystems auf SUN / Solaris in Verbindung mit einer Oracle-Datenbank. Seither wurde das System kontinuierlich den sich ständig ändernden Anforderungen angepasst und erweitert.

Die große Bandbreite der genannten Anforderungen wird durch eine Vielzahl von Kommissionierarten abgedeckt:

  • Ganz- und Teilpaletten für Großabnehmer
  • Ware-zur-Person-Kommissionierung für Abnahmemengen in ganzen Kartons
  • Pick-by-Light-Anlage für die Kommissionierung mittlerer Mengen (Tablarfördertechnik mit aufgesetzten Leerkartons).
  • Aufteilung der Anlage in drei Zonen für Produkte mit unterschiedlichem Durchsatz
  • Kommissionierung mit WLAN-MDEs aus Durchlaufkanälen, Fachböden und von Paletten
  • Spezielle Rennerkommissionierung für Apotheken-Direktbelieferung

Das Staplerleitsystem koordiniert eine Flotte unterschiedlicher Staplertypen so, dass einerseits die Wege minimiert, andererseits die unterschiedlichen Prioritäten der wartenden Transporte berücksichtigt werden. Alle Transportvorgänge werden durch Barcode-Scans von Paletten-Labels und Fachetiketten gegen Bedienfehler und Verwechslungen abgesichert.

Die Benutzeroberfläche mit insgesamt ca. 150 Dialogen wurde auf die ergonomischen Anforderungen der einzelnen Prozesse zugeschnitten. So existieren z. B. Arbeitsplätze im Lager, an denen der Benutzer in der Regel ausschließlich mit dem Barcodescanner arbeitet und keine Tastatur (oder gar Maus) benutzt. Ein sehr feines Berechtigungskonzept stellt sicher, dass nur autorisierte Mitarbeiter die sensiblen Prozesschritte durchlaufen können. Den hohen Anforderungen an die Verfügbarkeit wird durch hard- und softwareseitige Maßnahmen Rechnung getragen.

Plattform

SUN


Eine Auswahl realisierter Projekte

adidas_logo_smallbaur_logo_smallbrillux_logo_smallfadis_logo_smallhaba_logo_smallodlo_logo_smallotto_logo_smallpfizer_logo_small